True Sign
Order a PostInstalled next day

Sign by-laws

Real Estate Sign Bylaws in Peel, Halton, York and Simcoe (2026)

Last checked: November 3, 2026. By-law numbers and sections are cited so you can confirm anything with the municipality.

Updated November 4, 20269 min read

The short version

Every municipality here lets you put a for sale sign on the property without a permit. The differences are the size limit (0.5 m² in Barrie and Orillia up to 1.2 m² in Richmond Hill and Burlington), how long a sold sign can stay (14 or 30 days where the by-law says), and open house signs: Mississauga allows six from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Oakville five from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., Vaughan three for up to 72 hours. On York Region roads, open house signs have needed a $310 Regional permit since January 1, 2026; on Halton Region roads they are not allowed without the Region's permission.

This is the companion to our Durham Region and Toronto by-law guide. Each row below links to the city's section on our install page, where you'll find the full rules, section numbers and the official sources. Where a by-law is silent or we could not confirm a detail, we say so instead of guessing.

Two layers of rules: the city and the regional road

A for sale sign on the lawn and an open house sign on a local street are governed by the local municipality's sign by-law. Regional roads are different: York Region (Bylaw 2025-62) and Halton Region (By-law 36-01) control signs in their own road allowances, and a city's open house permission does not carry onto them. In Peel we found no Regional rule for open house signs on Regional roads; check with Peel Region before using one.

One rule holds everywhere: nothing on a sidewalk, a centre median, a utility pole or inside the sight triangle at a corner.

Mississauga: side by side

MunicipalityFor sale signOpen house signsSign down after saleFines
Mississauga1 m², one per street frontageBoulevard, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on the day, max 630 days after sale$500 to $100,000; $200+ removal fee

Brampton and Caledon (Bolton): side by side

MunicipalityFor sale signOpen house signsSign down after saleFines
Brampton1 m² and 1.5 m tall, one per lotRoad allowance during open house hours, A-frame 0.35 m²30 days after sold or off the marketPOA fine (no set range); $50 return fee
Caledon and BoltonOne per lot, 1.0 m from lot lines (size: see note)Public land on the day only, 0.5 m²14 days after sold, rented or leased$350 to $10,000; AMPs $500 / $750 / $1,000

York Region: side by side

York Region has two layers. Each city's sign by-law covers for sale signs and open house signs on its own streets. York Region's Bylaw 2025-62 covers the Regional roads (Yonge Street, Major Mackenzie, Highway 7, Bathurst, Leslie and the rest), and since January 1, 2026 an open house sign there needs a Regional permit.

MunicipalityFor sale signOpen house signsSign down after saleFines
Vaughan1.0 m², one per lotRoad allowance, max 3, max 72 hours14 days after offer accepted or leasedAMPs $400 to $750; POA $400 to $20,000
Richmond Hill1.20 m² and 1.20 m tallDay only, 1 per frontage + 4 on boulevards, 0.36 m²14 days after offer or lease accepted$500 to $100,000
Aurora1.0 m², one per lotPublic land on the day only, 0.5 m²14 days after advertised sold or leased$350 to $2,000; $20 retrieval
Newmarket1.0 m², one per street lineRoad allowance on the day only, A-frame, 1.83 m from road30 days after sold or leased$350 to $100,000; AMPs apply
York Region roads (Yonge, Major Mackenzie, Highway 7 and other Regional roads)n/a (Regional road allowance)Permit $310/yr, 6 signs, Fri 7 p.m. to Mon 6 a.m.Removed without notice if unpermitted$100 to $10,000 first offence

Halton: side by side

Halton has four sets of local rules and one regional one. Oakville, Milton, Halton Hills and Burlington each set their own limits for for sale and open house signs; on Halton Region roads, the Region's By-law 36-01 keeps signs out of the road allowance unless the Region gives permission.

MunicipalityFor sale signOpen house signsSign down after saleFines
Oakville0.56 m² and 1.5 m tall, one per unitMax 5 A-frames, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., 0.36 m²14 days after saleAMPs $300 / $400 / $500; $75 retrieval
Milton1.1 m² and 1.2 m tallNot covered by the Sign By-law (ask the Town)Not stated in the by-lawUp to $5,000 per offence
Halton Hills (Georgetown and Acton)0.557 m² (6 sq ft), one per lotRoad allowance, 0.372 m², 1.0 m from curb, gone in 48 hNot stated for for sale signsAMPs from $300; $150 removal
Burlington1.2 m² per faceRoad allowance, 1 m max, up 3 days before, down day afterNot stated (abandoned signs banned)Up to $5,000; $81 removal
Halton Region roadsn/a (Regional road allowance)Not without the Region's permissionRemoved without noticePOA fine, per day

Barrie and Orillia: side by side

MunicipalityFor sale signOpen house signsSign down after saleFines
Barrie0.5 m² (residential)No open house exception for municipal land foundNot stated in the by-lawUp to $5,000 (POA); up to $100,000
Orillia0.5 m² (residential)Public property, gone within 24 hours, not within 10 m of a corner14 days after offer accepted or leasedPOA fine; $100+ storage fee

What we could not confirm

These are the gaps in the public by-laws and city pages as of our last check. Ask the municipality before relying on any of them:

  • Mississauga: a height limit for for sale signs (s.26 sets none); a removal deadline after a lease (s.26(3) covers sold signs only); set ticket amounts or administrative penalties for sign offences; Region of Peel rules for open house signs on Regional roads such as Hurontario or Dundas.
  • Brampton: whether the new Open House Sign By-law (119-2026, on Council's July 8, 2026 agenda) was enacted, and its sign limits and fines; until the City publishes it, the s.9(9) rules above are the ones in the current by-law; set ticket amounts for sign offences; Region of Peel rules for open house signs on Regional roads such as Queen Street or Bovaird Drive.
  • Caledon and Bolton: the in-town size limit: the by-law prints "1.5m" without a unit and the Town's web page shows only 3.4 m², so confirm with Town Legislative Services (905-584-2272) before ordering an oversized panel; a height limit for for sale signs; a maximum number of open house signs; sign removal and storage fees; Region of Peel rules for open house signs on Regional roads such as Queen Street (Highway 50) in Bolton.
  • Vaughan: a height limit for for sale signs; the sign storage and recovery fee.
  • Richmond Hill: how many for sale signs are allowed per property (Table A states none); the administrative penalty amounts and sign redemption fee.
  • Aurora: a height limit for for sale signs; a maximum number of open house signs and their setback from the curb; whether Aurora uses administrative penalties for sign offences.
  • Newmarket: a height limit for for sale signs; the size and maximum number of open house signs; the administrative penalty amounts and sign removal fee.
  • York Region roads (Yonge, Major Mackenzie, Highway 7 and other Regional roads): the sign retrieval fee; the list of Designated Locations (published by the Region).
  • Oakville: any amendment after the March 24, 2025 consolidation; whether the $300 / $400 / $500 penalty amounts have changed in the Town's current rates and fees schedule; whether open house signs are limited to certain days of the week (the by-law sets hours only).
  • Milton: whether open house signs are allowed on Town road allowances, and on what terms; how Table 7A's 6.0 m setback from a lot line next to another zone applies to residential for sale signs; confirm with Town staff; administrative penalties and removal fees for sign offences; any amendment after 034-2018.
  • Halton Hills (Georgetown and Acton): whether the $150 removal and storage fee (Schedule A, 2013) is still current; any limit on open house sign hours or numbers (the by-law states none).
  • Burlington: whether the sign by-law is under Burlington's administrative penalty system, and the amounts; whether the Schedule C removal fee of $81 is still current; a numeric setback for for sale signs.
  • Halton Region roads: which roads in each town are Regional roads (see Halton Region's road map).
  • Barrie: whether another Barrie by-law permits open house signs on the boulevard (ask Service Barrie); a height limit, a count limit and a removal deadline for for sale signs; the removal and storage fee amounts.
  • Orillia: a height and count limit for for sale signs; the size, number and earliest placement time of open house signs; set fine amounts.

Sources

Every rule in this guide comes from these by-laws and official pages:

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a permit for a real estate sign in Peel, Halton, York or Simcoe?
Not for a for sale sign on the property: Mississauga, Brampton, Caledon, Oakville, Halton Hills, Burlington, Vaughan, Richmond Hill, Aurora, Newmarket and Orillia all exempt it, and we found no real estate sign permit requirement in Milton's or Barrie's by-laws. Open house signs on a York Region road need a Regional permit ($310 a year).
Which city has the smallest for sale sign limit?
Barrie and Orillia, at 0.5 m² on residential land. Halton Hills allows 0.557 m² and Oakville 0.56 m², which a standard 24 by 36 inch panel (about 0.56 m²) just fits.
How long can a sold sign stay up?
14 days in Caledon, Oakville, Vaughan, Richmond Hill, Aurora and Orillia; 30 days in Mississauga, Brampton and Newmarket. Milton, Halton Hills, Burlington and Barrie set no deadline in their sign by-laws.
Can I put open house signs on Regional roads?
In York Region, only with the Region's open house sign permit, Friday 7 p.m. to Monday 6 a.m. (Bylaw 2025-62). In Halton Region, not without the Region's permission (By-law 36-01).

Ready to get your listing's sign up?

Order before 6pm for next-business-day installation across Durham Region. No account needed.